Sunburnt Skin Saviours

You’d think as an Islander I’d be able to cope with going to the beach for a few hours. Turns out I can’t. Me and the boyfriend hit up one of the most beautiful beaches on the Island on our day off, and in the space of a few hours I was horiffically sunburn and suffered with sun stroke for a few days. Pathetic. Needless to say I’ve been calling on a selection of skincare heroes to help me through. Here are my faves:

sunburnt skin

Garnier Ambre Solaire After Sun

Okay, so don’t hate me. Garnier isn’t exactly one of the most friendly brands, but this stuff is SO good for treating sunburn. It contains aloe vera… and lots of extra awful ingredients, but at this time I could not care less, so long as it works! You all know by now that my skin does not absorb anything, but this stuff sinks right in, and I can pop it on before I get dressed (the dreaded bra strap moments… not cool) and it doesn’t make me feel like a greasy mess. It’s specifically designed for sun parched skin, you don’t have to be sun burnt to use it. Despite the ingredients list I would 100% recommend this, it works a treat, helps maintain a tan and only costs £3.49 from Boots at the mo. Nice!

HealGel Body

This stuff is pretty much a miracle worker for skin that’s had a little too much fun in the sun. It’s so good at soothing the skin and repairing a lil bit of damage. At £39.50 it’s expensive, but to be honest, when you’re sunburnt you’ll spend anything that will nurse you back to good health. This moisturises really deeply into your skin, which is perfect for sunburn and preventing peeling. It’s got loads of great ingredients to truly nourish skin, it’ll do you the world of good, sunburnt or not!

Banana Boat Aloe Vera Gel

God this stuff is good. It’s über refreshing and perfect for when you’re still radiating heat after a day in the sun. It’s an awesome green gloopy consistency, kind of like hand gel, but it’s a miracle in a bottle for when you need a hit of cooling relief. It’s £6 from Boots and worth every penny!

Here’s where I went anyway… totally worth the pain!

Compton beach

What are your go-to sunburnt skin products?

Sunburnt Skin Saviours

Leave a Reply

