Getting Clean

YogaSo, this might not be what you think it is. Thankfully I am solely referring to my diet and lifestyle, no narcotics involved here people. In case you hadn’t read up already, in 2013 I got a pretty hefty diagnosis which changed my life, and me, forever. Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (or PCOS as I will refer to it) is a hugely common condition amongst women, in fact, it is said that 1 in 10 of us suffer. It’s a condition that contrary to the name is primarily a metabolic and hormone disorder. (If you fancy reading up then please see this website.) I decided to look down a holistic and natural route to dealing with my symptoms, and came across this AMAZING book, which was my bible for a good few months.

As you would expect, my diet has a huge impact on my symptoms, and it’s super important to avoid foods pumped full of hormones (anything produced by female animals) to keep me balanced. I’ve been wanting to get back in the game and get healthy for a few months now, but to be perfectly honest, I just haven’t had the head space to dedicate to a lifestyle change. For whatever reason, something has changed this weekend and I’m determined to clean up my act and look after myself a little better. Here are a few things that I hope will help me along the way…

Healthy Role Models

I felt completely inspired after discovering Deliciously Ella. One thing that really grinds my gears about healthy eaters is snobbery, and she has none at all. Also, if one more person tells me that all I can eat for breakfast is home made granola I may simply implode. What I love about Deliciously Ella is her simple, yet creative approach to her food. She uses minimal and easy to access ingredients, quick recipes and a no-fuss method. This makes her recipes 100% manageable for those on a budget as there aren’t a hundred million ingredients you need to buy beforehand. I’d recommend checking out her Sweet Potato Brownie recipe – they look amazing!

Go-to Recipe Books (bibles)

Image Source: http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/
Image Source: http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/

As I say, samey food really gets on my nerves, so I’m on the hunt for some amazing recipe books to help my journey towards a healthier lifestyle. Please please please recommend one if you have a favourite. The ones I’d like to add to my bookshelf are:

1. The Green Kitchen – as recommended by the beautiful Antonia Burrell.

2. Honestly Healthy for Life – this book really appeals to me because it has identified the lifestyle change, and isn’t aimed at fad dieters!

3. River Cottage Veg Everyday – Hugh is my hero, what more can I say?

4. Deliciously Ella – released in September, the countdown begins!

5. I Quit Sugar – Sarah Wilson is also a fantastic, healthy role model

6. It’s All Good – by the amazing Gwyneth Paltrow.

Inspiration

Doing anything without motivation is just a chore, so I’m looking for things to keep me grounded and interested. I’ve started Yoga again, which is amazing for reminding me on a weekly basis why it’s important to love my body. Also surrounding myself with lovely blogs and websites to check in on makes for good inspiration, I got really stuck in to Hip & Healthy the other day. Plenty of good reading there, and a fab beauty section, too.

I may well keep you posted on my progress, and share some occasional recipes, to be honest I could do with the pressure! Please share any recipes with me, and tell me about your health stories too! I’ll leave you with a couple of health tips to keep you going:

  • Craving sugar or salt? A deficiency in zinc can make you long for these flavours, so make sure you load up on foods such as spinach, pumpkin seeds and nuts to replenish your supply! (Please consult a doctor before making any major changes, though!)
  • If you’re struggling to gather energy from your food, you could be deficient in certain B vitamins. I started taking a Vitamin B complex which has helped me to stay feeling a little more energised.
  • Reduce your caffeine & sugar intake. I know everyone harps on about this ALL THE TIME, but it is for such good reason. You know that 3 o’clock hunger and energy crash? Yeah, it’s those two nasties playing games with your mind. Try to aim for low GI/GL foods, especially for lunch & breakfast and you should beat it for good.
Getting Clean

2 thoughts on “Getting Clean

    1. Thank you! It’s going well thanks! I’m not going down the ‘overhaul’ road, I’m just phasing new things in really, I don’t want to phase anything out or I’ll miss it and give up. I’m trying the ‘being kind to yourself’ thing haha. Good luck with your mission! Keep me updated x

Leave a Reply

